The Robert Chesley/Victor Bumbalo Playwriting Award is an annual competition for playwrights of LGBTQ theatre. The award seeks to encourage LGBTQ themed work that makes a substantial contribution to the theatrical repertoire and community.

The Foundation underwrites a three-month residency at the Helene Wurlitzer Foundation in Taos, New Mexico. In addition, awardees receive a $1,500 stipend for personal expenses. The Wurlitzer Foundation is located on eighteen acres in the heart of Taos. Past recipients include Maria Irene Fornes, Lisa Kron, Robert Patrick, Christopher Shinn, Paula Vogel, and Doric Wilson.

Submissions for the 2018 competition must be postmarked no later than Saturday, January 14, 2018. There is no entry fee. Submissions must consist of the full manuscript and be clearly marked “Chesley/Bumbalo Competition” on the application form and title page of the script. Playwrights may submit only one manuscript per year. Awards will be announced by June 1, 2018.

To apply for the award, playwrights are asked to go to; There they can download an application form, execute the form, and send it with a hard copy of the script to:

The Helene Wurlitzer Foundation of NM
Atten: Chesley/Bumbalo Playwriting Competition
P.O. Box 1891
Taos, NM 87571

Manuscripts cannot be returned after the competition. No bound or stapled scripts please. For additional information, playwrights can find us at or If there are further questions, the foundation’s president Victor Bumbalo can be reached at

Tags: , , , ,
  • Lammy Awards

Leave a Reply

Please fill the required box or you can’t comment at all. Please use kind words. Your e-mail address will not be published.

Gravatar is supported.

You can use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>