Trustee Award

Lambda Literary bestows its Trustee Award on individuals who have
broken new ground in the field of LGBT literature, publishing, filmmaking,  journalism, playwrighting, etc.
Established in 2013, the Award honors those who, through their
achievements and passionate commitment, have contributed to the LGBT
literature and arts community in significant and tangible ways: through works of
literature, film, and other media or by establishing publishing houses, publications,
archives, bookstores, or further institutions.

Recipients of Lambda Literary’s Trustee Award for Excellence in Literature

  • Augusten Burroughs (2013)
  • Alison Bechdel (2014)
  • John Waters (2015)
  • Hilton Als (2016)
  • Jeanette Winterson (2017)
  • Roxane Gay (2018)