interior banner image

Previous Winners

Lambda Literary Awards Finalists & Winners

For over 30 years, the Lambda Literary Awards have recognized the best LGBTQ books published in a given year across dozens of categories.

Below is a directory of all previous Lammy finalists and winners dating back to 1988. You can search by book title or author, or filter the overall list by publication year or category in any combination of the fields shown.

Please note that each year’s Lambda Literary Awards celebrates books published between January 1 and December 31 of the previous year. For example, books from the 2019 Lammys would have a publication year of 2018 in this table.

Publication Year
Book Title
Author Name
Award Status
River Road
C.F. Borgman
Mountain Climbing In Sheridan Square
Stan Levanthal
Blue Heaven
Joe Keenan
Sherlock Holmes and the Mysterious Friend of O. Wilde
Russell A. Brown
The Beautiful Room Is Empty
Edmund White
The Swimming-Pool Library
Alan Hollinghurst
Valley of the Shadow
Christopher Davis
Second Son
Robert Ferro
The Temple
Stephen Spender
Michael Nava
Death Takes the Stage
Donald Ward
Unicorn Mountain
Michael Bishop
Joseph Hansen

Subscribe to our newsletter