Lambda Literary, the nation’s oldest and largest literary arts organization advancing LGBTQ literature, will hold the 30th Annual Lambda Literary Awards (the “Lammys”), on Monday, June 4th at NYU Skirball Center for Performing Arts in New York City.

This year, Edmund White and Roxane Gay will be honored, along with the winning authors of 23 separate LGBTQ literary categories determined by over 60 judges. Legendary comedian Kate Clinton will emcee the ceremony, which will begin at 7:00, with a red carpet beforehand and a VIP cocktail reception starting at 5:30 pm.

Buy tickets here.

The Lammys bring together over 500 attendees, sponsors, and celebrities to celebrate excellence in LGBTQ literature, making it the most glamorous and prestigious LGBTQ literary event in the world. This year’s expected attendees include:

  • Edmund White (award-winning novelist, memoirist, and essayist)
  • Roxane Gay (bestselling author, professor, and The New York Times opinion writer)
  • Kate Clinton (political humorist and LGBTQ activist)
  • Rebecca Solnit (award-winning author and contributing editor at Harper’s Magazine)
  • Alison Bechdel (MacArthur Fellow and award-winning author of Fun Home)
  • Nicole Dennis-Benn (author of Lammy winner Here Comes the Sun)
  • Nancy Bereano (founder and publisher of Firebrand Books)
  • Kate Bornstein (author of Gender Outlaw and celebrated performance artist)
  • Katherine Forrest (author of legendary Kate Delafield series)
  • Rigoberto Gonzalez (Guggenheim and NEA Fellow, author and poet)
  • Michael Nava (author of legendary Henry Rios mystery series)
  • Tommy “Teebs” Pico (poet and author of Junk)
  • S. Chris Shirley (award-winning director and author)
  • Pamela Sneed (poet and author of Imagine Being More Afraid of Freedom Than Slavery and KONG)
  • Mecca Jamilah Sullivan (Lambda Literary and Edmund White Award finalist)
  • Jeanne Thornton (Lammy-nominated author and co-editor of Instar Books)
  • Alok Vaid-Menon (gender non-conforming writer and performance artist)
  • Taylor Trensch (actor, Dear Evan Hansen on Broadway)
  • Carmelita Tropicana (Obie-winning performance artists)
  • Paula Vogel (Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright for How I Learned to Drive)
  • Rick Whitaker (Award-winning author of An Honest Ghost)

Lambda Literary believes Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer literature is fundamental to the preservation of culture, and that LGBTQ lives are affirmed when stories are written, published and read. By nurturing and advocating for LGBTQ writers, Lambda Literary strives to elevate the impact of their words to create community, preserve legacies, and affirm the value of their stories and lives.

Lambda Literary programs include: the Lambda Literary Awards, the Writers Retreat for Emerging LGBTQ Voices, LGBTQ Writers in Schools, Lambda LitFest LA, and the web magazine Lambda Literary Review.


Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Please fill the required box or you can’t comment at all. Please use kind words. Your e-mail address will not be published.

Gravatar is supported.

You can use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>