The Publishing Triangle, the association of lesbian and gay men in publishing, have announced the finalists for their annual literary awards. Congratulations to all the nominees.

The winners will be announced at the 27th annual Triangle Awards ceremony on April 23, 2015, at the Auditorium of the New School (66 West 12th Street in New York City) at 7 p.m. The ceremony is free and open to the public. The Bill Whitehead Award for lifetime achievement will be bestowed upon writer Rigoberto González during the ceremony.

For more details click here.


Finalists for the Audre Lorde Award for Lesbian Poetry

  • How a Mirage Works, by Beverly Burch (Sixteen Rivers Press)
  • Last Psalm at Sea Level, by Meg Day (Barrow Street Press)
  • Like a Beggar, by Ellen Bass (Copper Canyon Press)
  • Tiger Heron, by Robin Becker (University of Pittsburgh Press)

Finalists for the Thom Gunn Award for Gay Poetry

  • I Don’t Know Do You, by Roberto Montes (Ampersand Books)
  • The New Testament, by Jericho Brown (Copper Canyon Press)
  • Prelude to Bruise, by Saeed Jones (Coffee House Press)
  • The Selected Poetry of Pier Paolo Pasolini: A Bilingual Edition, edited and translated by Stephen Sartarelli (University of Chicago Press)

Finalists for the Judy Grahn Award for Lesbian Nonfiction

  • Ain’t Gonna Let Nobody Turn Me Around: 40 Years of Movement Building with Barbara Smith, by Barbara Smith; edited by Alethia Jones and Virginia Eubanks (SUNY Press)
  • A Cup of Water Under My Bed, by Daisy Hernandez (Beacon Press)
  • Eating Fire: My Life as a Lesbian Avenger, by Kelly Cogswell (University of Minnesota Press)
  • The End of Eve, by Ariel Gore (Hawthorne Books)

Finalists for the Randy Shilts Award for Gay Nonfiction

  • Gay Berlin: Birthplace of a Modern Identity, by Robert Beachy (Alfred A. Knopf)
  • Hold Tight Gently, by Martin Duberman (The New Press)
  • The Prince of Los Cocuyos, by Richard Blanco (Ecco/HarperCollins)
  • Wagstaff: Before and After Mapplethorpe, by Philip Gefter (Liveright/W.W. Norton)

Finalists for the Edmund White Award for Debut Fiction

  • For Today I Am a Boy, by Kim Fu (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
  • Little Reef and Other Stories, by Michael Carroll (University of Wisconsin Press)
  • New York 1, Tel Aviv 0, by Shelly Oria (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)
  • Unaccompanied Minors, by Alden Jones (New American Press)

Finalists for the Ferro-Grumley Award for LGBT Fiction

  • All I Love and Know, by Judith Frank (William Morrow/HarperCollins)
  • I Loved You More, by Tom Spanbauer (Hawthorne Books)
  • Mr. Loverman, by Bernardine Evaristo (Akashic Books)
  • Sideways Down the Sky, by Barry Brennessel (MLR Press)
  • When Everything Feels Like the Movies, by Raziel Reid (Arsenal Pulp Press)



Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Please fill the required box or you can’t comment at all. Please use kind words. Your e-mail address will not be published.

Gravatar is supported.

You can use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>