The finalists for the this year’s Mythopoeic Awards have been announced. The fiction categories include two friends of Lambda. Lambda Award winner Palimpsest (Cat Valente) is a finalist for adult, and Lammy finalist Ash (Malinda Lo) is a finalist for Young Adult.

According to their website:

“The Mythopoeic Awards are chosen from books nominated by individual members of the Mythopoeic Society, and selected by a committee of Society members.”

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume novel, or single-author story collection for adults published during the previous year that best exemplifies “the spirit of the Inklings”.

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature honors books for younger readers (from “Young Adults” to picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia.

Adult Fiction

  • Barbara Campbell, Trickster’s Game trilogy consisting of Heartwood, Bloodstone, and Foxfire (DAW)
  • Greer Gilman, Cloud & Ashes: Three Winter’s Tales (Small Beer Press)
  • Robert Holdstock, Avilion (Gollancz)
  • Catherynne M. Valente, Palimpsest (Spectra)
  • Jo Walton, Lifelode (NESFA Press)

Young Adult Fiction

  • Kage Baker, The Hotel Under the Sand (Tachyon)
  • Shannon Hale, Books of Bayern consisting of The Goose Girl, Enna Burning, River Secrets, and Forest Born (Bloomsbury)
  • Grace Lin, Where the Mountain Meets the Moon (Little, Brown)
  • Malinda Lo, Ash (Little, Brown)
  • Lisa Mantchev, Eyes Like Stars (Feiwel & Friends)

The full lists are available here.



Tags: , , , , , ,
  • Lambda Literary LitFest!

Leave a Reply

Please fill the required box or you can’t comment at all. Please use kind words. Your e-mail address will not be published.

Gravatar is supported.

You can use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>


//