Amber Dawn, Mariko Tamaki Win Writers’ Trust LGBT Author Honors: The Writers’ Trust of Canada has presented Amber Dawn, author of Lambda Award–winning novel Sub Rosa, with a $4,000 prize for her “body of work of exceptional quality.” Mariko Tamaki was also recognized with a $500 award for her work. Learn more about these two emerging authors here.

Author Self Publishes Marriage Proposal: Gay author Philip D. Luing took the non-traditional route when proposing to his boyfriend: he self-published his words for the world to see in Bliss: A Marriage Proposal for Charles Stephen Hughes. According to MediaBistro, Luing had good reason to put the title out there:

“My hope is that by making a public declaration of what I believe a marriage would mean to us as a couple I will accomplish two ends.  First and foremost, of course, I hope and trust that Charles Stephen will find me and my vision for our life together worthy of a marriage commitment. At the same time, I hope that others who read these words will understand that commitment to be worthy of the word marriage.”

Gay Entrepreneur Creates Website Featuring Gay Cards for Every Occasion: We all know that in most card stores, it can be impossible to find something fitting for partners of the same sex. That’s why Dan McLellan, a self-proclaimed romantic frustrated with the lack of options for his spouse, started a website focusing in LGBT cards.

Check out his creations at HomoQuotables.com.

Florida Supercon: Events for LGBT Fans of Sci-Fi, Anime and Comic Books: If you’re a South Florida native, you won’t want to miss Floria Supercon held at the Miami Airport Convention Center. Running from June 29 to July 2,2012, the festivities include lots and lots of comic books, celebrity appearances, and hundreds of events. So, let your nerd roam free and snap photos of Hunger Games stars. [SouthFloridaGayNews]

Photo: Amber Dawn


Tags: , , , , , ,
  • Michael Craft

Leave a Reply

Please fill the required box or you can’t comment at all. Please use kind words. Your e-mail address will not be published.

Gravatar is supported.

You can use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>