1st Annual Lambda Literary Authors Series

October 25, 2014, 7:00 p.m.

The Armory for The Arts Theater, 1050 Old Pecos Trail, Santa Fe, NM

Featuring Ana Castillo, Andrew Holleran, and Justin Torres

Moderated by Amy Scholder

Event Description:

Broadening the tradition as the world’s leading nonprofit organization that nurtures, celebrates, and preserves LGBTQ literature through programs that honor excellence, promote visibility and encourage development of emerging writers, Lambda Literary is excited to announce our 1st Annual “Authors Series.”

To effectively provide services to areas outside of coastal large cities, Lambda Literary has selected Santa Fe, NM as the home of this new annual event. Santa Fe is internationally known for its arts and culture.  It is also home to one of the world’s largest literary foundations and continuous public literary events making Santa Fe the obvious choice.

The Lambda Literary Authors Series, called “UNABRIDGED,” will be an event centered around three nationally acclaimed, best-selling LGBTQ authors who will each read from their current works and have a conversation with a literary moderator discussing topics pertaining to their work, their lives, their community and being LGBTQ. This year’s author panel will include Ana Castillo, Andrew Holleran and Justin Torres and will be moderated by Amy Scholder.

Supported by the City of Santa Fe, Mayor Javier Gonzales will proclaim October 25th “Lambda Literary Day.”

The Armory for The Arts Theater, a 335 seat theater located near the heart of Downtown Santa Fe, will provide the perfect venue for this inaugural event.

Tickets will be sold at two levels:

General Admission $25

VIP Seating $150 includes an after-party with the authors and moderator

Tickets and Box Office Information: 505.984.1370 or www.sfperformingarts.org



1501 Paseo de Peralta

Special Rate of $179/night
Call reservations at 800-825-9876
Mention “UNABRIDGED Lambda Literary”

The Lambda Literary Authors Series is generously underwritten by Morgan Stanley. 


Ana Castillo Photo credit: Robert A. Molina

Ana Castillo
Photo credit: Robert A. Molina

Ana Castillo is one of the most powerful voices in Chicana literature. She is the author of So Far From God and Sapogonia, both New York Times Notable Books of the Year, as well as The GuardiansPeel My Love like an Onion, and most recently, Give It To Me published by the Feminist Press. She divides her time between Chicago and southern New Mexico.

Andrew Holleran

Andrew Holleran

Andrew Holleran is the author of Dancer From the Dance, a novel about pre-AIDS New York, and, most recently, Grief, a novella set in post-AIDS Washington, D. C. An original member of The Violet Quill, he has written two other novels, a book of stories, and a collection of essays about AIDS. For the past decade, he has been teaching Creative Writing at American University in Washington, and currently writes for The Gay and Lesbian Review.

Justin Torres

Justin Torres

Justin Torres is author of the best-selling novel We the Animals, which won the VCU Cabell First Novelist Award, and has been translated into fifteen languages. He has published short fiction in The New YorkerHarper’sGrantaTin HouseThe Washington Post and other publications. A graduate of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop, he is currently a Cullman Center Fellow at The New York Public Library. The National Book Foundation named him one of 2012’s 5 Under 35.

Amy Scholder (moderator) has been editing and publishing progressive and literary books for over twenty years. Her visionary style has brought high visibility to her authors, and has been praised for its contribution to contemporary literature and popular culture.

Amy Scholder

Amy Scholder

She has served as editorial director of the Feminist Press, editor-in-chief of Seven Stories Press, US publisher of Verso, founding co-editor of HIGH RISK Books/Serpent’s Tail, and editor at City Lights Books. Over the years, she has published the work of Sapphire, Karen Finley, June Jordan, Kate Bornstein, Kathy Acker, David Wojnarowicz, Dorothy Allison, Mary Gaitskill, Joni Mitchell, Kate Millett, Elfriede Jelinek, Muriel Rukeyser, Laurie Weeks, Justin Vivian Bond, Virginie Despentes, Ana Castillo, and many other award-winning authors.






Santa_Fe_Lambda_Lit_Proclamation Santa_Fe_Lambda_Lit_Proclamation


Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Please fill the required box or you can’t comment at all. Please use kind words. Your e-mail address will not be published.

Gravatar is supported.

You can use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>