(Chicago). On Friday, March 2, from 6:00 p.m. until 8:00 p.m., Editor Kathie Bergquist joins contributors David Trinidad, Achy Obejas, E. Patrick Johnson, Karen Lee Osborne, J. Adams Oaks, and Deb R. Lewis for a reading and reception celebrating the groundbreaking new literary anthology Windy City Queer: LGBTQ Dispatches from the Third Coast (University of Wisconsin Press). This event will take place at Film Row Cinema, 1104 S. Wabash. It is cosponsored by the Fiction Writing Department of Columbia College Chicago, The Creative Non-Fiction and Poetry programs of Columbia College Chicago, and the Columbia College Chicago Critical Encounters initiative, with support from the Lambda Literary Foundation. This event coincides with the Associated Writing Programs (AWP) conference taking place in Chicago from 2/29/12 – 3/3/12. The reading and reception are free and open to the public.

The contributions of the Midwest and, specifically, Chicago to LGBTQ literature have been invaluable yet largely uncelebrated over the last century. Windy City Queer charts a map of queer Chicago and showcases its thriving urban arts community, which boasts a unique history, legacy, and sensibility deeply rooted in the urban Midwest. Celebrated writers Edmund White, Achy Obejas, Sharon Bridgforth, Brian Bouldrey, E. Patrick Johnson, Carol Anshaw, David Trinidad, and Mark Zubro are joined by emerging voices from the queer literary scene. Spanning all literary genres, from fiction and poetry to memoir and essays, these pieces portray a full gamut of gay Chicago lives from the everyday to the quirky, from public spectacles to quiet intimacies, from family life to nightlife, from dating to marriage, from loving to mourning. The results are simultaneously surprising, smart, hilarious, and heart wrenching.


Leave a Reply

Please fill the required box or you can’t comment at all. Please use kind words. Your e-mail address will not be published.

Gravatar is supported.

You can use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>